August 3, 2008

  • Jessica is 32 today

    Today my first baby turned 32 years old. She was the one that first turned a care free young woman into a mother.  And having that first baby pretty much smacks the selfishness out of even the most carefree young person. We were just babies ourselves I was almost nineteen and he was almost 20 when we got married and 2 years later in the same month God blessed us with this beautiful child. I went into labor at 6.00 in the morning and made my husband go to work. But he wisely made the decision to check on me at lunch. I kept delaying until he convinced me to get the show on the road at 3.00pm.  At 6:01pm same day she popped into the world and popped her fist in her mouth ready for someone to bring on the grub.  And this beautiful child of mine has been a blessing everyday of her life. When I was in the hospital for 2 and  1/2 months with my leg she was right there bossing the nurses about taking care of her Mom. Now neither one of my two children are married and I don't have grand babies. The said daughter, who is named Jessica Renee' is seeing a guy that she has been engaged to twice.  Now he thinks his time clock is ticking for baby making and she wants to make sure he is really prince charming. Now he is a gorgeous hunk of man, loves God, can quote the Bible to you and is well settled with his own home. Shucks if I wasn't already married, I would marry him.  He is the whole package. Now I really wouldn't marry him, I think that might be too disturbing for even me. I think she just is having a hard time letting go of her freedom. Now she loves kids and even after spending a lot of her grown up years in college she tossed it all to be a nanny. And go figure it pays better than her career  would and has better benefits. Things have always happened like that for her.

    Now back to her birthday.  I always let my children make a  request for dinner on their birthdays.  Now this time it was a lunch.  She had a dinner date with said boy friend.  Now keep in mind she could have chosen a lot of food items and Dad would have run out where ever for it.  But she chose-------drum roll------ my home made salmon patties, home made version of a Rich and Charlies salad, corn nuggets, and my home made strawberry cup cakes. And yes out of my old hillbilly mouth came salmon patties, not crouquets, croquets or what ever fancy folk call them.  I ate mine with ranch dressing using my fingers. There I said it.  Anyway I was once famous for my cupcakes. For  every party they had, for what ever reason I made these cupcakes.  Half strawberry and half chocolate.  And the children raved over my cup cakes and came back until the left overs where gone. But please don't tell these silly kids that those were made out of a box cake and canned icing from our local store. Now I intended to show you a picture of this lovely food, but someone said I am hungry I am going to snack. Next thing I know there was one salmon patty and some shriveled lettuce, pimento and artichoke hearts left in the bottom of the salad bowl.

    Now I don't have pictures ready today of my newborn baby. But the one I am going to show is of she and I at a St Judes bikathon. Nine years old and she rode 61 miles. For those poor sick babies like cousin Dustin, she kept reminding us. I didn't want her to do it because she had a heart murmur. But the Doc said let her do, but make sure someone is there for her. And I was like duh! But any way God blessed my big hearted little girl and after that bikathon her heart murmur disappeared. Now explain that one away non believers!  Any way Happy Birthday my lovely child.  I treasure you, your brother and your Dad.Jess and Mom