June 6, 2008

  • Tomorrow is another day.

    After I first started this blog I decided I didn't  have anything important to say that might help someone.  After all my life is a simple one.  I am a one legged wheelchair bound woman   But today my friend bauna  told me that I am an inspiration.  I am still in awe of that. So maybe I can add something. After all I am blooming where I am planted.  I can use the word amputee and handycapped in context to myself now without cringing.  But those words don't define me. What I am is a Christian woman, good wife and good mother to my children. (Of course it is a little easier to mother them now that they are grown) lol!  My world has shrunk down to this little split foyer house.  But I am blooming where I am planted.  I am expanding my world through my computer.  Making new friends like bauna  who is a good kind Christian women who unselfishly takes care of her family so wonderfully.  And then there is copperswife  who first told me to tell my story through a blog.  Thank you guys for being so kind to me as I restart this new blog.

    Today hubby went with his brother and nephew to the farm where they hunt to mow the grass.  So I used this time wisely to do some cleaning while the remote controll packing man was out of the way.  Then I hung out with my little buddies who I will introduce you to now.sweater boys Pea is a 9 year old  chiauhauha who weighs 5 pounds and Rosco is a 12 lb, 5 year old  min pin.  It is hard to tell this by looking at him because his ears haven't been clipped. And I love his  big old floppy ears.  So as you see I use my spare time torturing small animals.  You will probably see more of them.  We also do halloween and  Pea has a santa hat which is his favorite.  now you have met the doggie children and the reason we don't suffer from empty nest syndrome.                                                                                                                           I decided to surprise my hubby, better known as dear, sweet heart and Joe,  with a nice dinner.  Since I have been ill he does most of the cooking because I wear out so fast.  And honey is he ever good at it.  But today I made blackeyed peas in my pressure cooker, so it took only 20 minutes for the peas and a little longer for the corn bread.  We like neckbones or short ribs in our peas but today all I had was ham shanks in the upstairs freezer. Now I love my pressure cooker.  My sister in law recommended that I buy it from one of those shopping networks and she is a smart woman let me tell you.  You can only fill them half full but they come in several sizes.  The one I have is just right for Joe and I.  Now I am a southern pinch and palm cooker.  My favorite recipes are memorized in just that manner and these peas and cornbread are no exception.  But I will try to share my recipes in a later post.  Like anyother family we have our own preferences.  For instance we like our cornbread a little bit sweet and since we don't use sugar splenda does the job.  I am going to post a picture of my pressure cooker and my good old iron skillet of corn bread.  But please over look the water spots on my pressure cooker and if you see a prednesone bloated figure in the reflection ignore that too. ebay pictures 005 What I wanted you to see here is the weight system rather than a gauge these newer pressure cookers have.  They are so much safer.  The worst that can happen is that it would blow a seal.  Over filled it once and this happened.  Joe and I still laugh about finding peas where it blew them all over the kitchen for weeks later.  Notice the steam on the back of the range. The peas where still in the pot at this point and I had just released the steam.ebay pictures 003

    This is a side veiw of my pressure cooker.  If anyone is interested I can look up the name. It is from some big la de dah cheif I think.

    I just noticed that the top picture is cut off in my published blog, but you can still see the weight  on the right hand side in the  side veiw of the pressure cooker.

     

     

     

     

     

    Now didn't my corn bread turn out well in my lovely old iron skillet?

     

    ebay pictures 001 Well enough for today because it is at it's end and even two old retired folks need their rest.  And as Scarlet would say "tomorrow is another day" God Bless you all for listening.  Patty

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment